Parks Commission

Current Members: 

Name Position  Contact  Term
Gary Sasek Chair

Appointed: 03/05/2024
Term Expiration: 7/31/2025
Betty Bishop Member  Appointed: 03/05/2024
Term Expiration: 10/15/2025
Elizabeth Pirkola Secretary

Term Expiration: 10/15/2026
Tiffani Martin Member

Appointed: 12/21/2021
Term Expiration:10/15/2024
Linda Flanz Member

Appointed: 3/22/2022
Term Expiration: 10/15/2024
Alexander Stokes Member

Appointed: 3/22/2022
Term Expiration: 10/15/2023
VACANT     Appointed: 
Term Expiration: 10/15/2024
Joseph Merucci Staff Liaison

Rob Baker Council Liaison  

The parks commission shall be an advisory board with the power to make recommendations and advise the council, city manager and parks director on any matters pertaining to park programs, projects or facilities operated or conducted by the city on any properties owned or controlled by the city, or on any other properties with the consent of the owner and authorities who control it. Such advice shall include, but not be limited to, interpreting the needs of the community and the desires of its citizens as to the allocation of available funds among the city's park programs, interpreting the needs of the community as to the acquisition or constructing of any additional park facilities, advising in the preparation of departmental requests in connection with the preparation of the city's annual budgets, assisting in the formulation of any rules and regulations considered necessary or advisable to provide the optimum public benefit from any phase of the city's parks and programs, assisting in the settling of any disputes, conflicting interests or differences of opinion between two or more citizens, or groups of citizens, involving the use or operation of the city's park facilities and recommending programs and activities as the commission feels may benefit the public health and welfare of the citizens of Eastpointe.

Review the full Ordinance


Members are appointed by the Mayor, subject to the approval of a majority vote of the Council. 


Members appointed shall serve for a term of three years. 


Second Wednesday of the Month at 7:00 p.m. at the Patriot Building in Spindler Park at 19400 Stephens. 

2023 Regular Meeting Schedule